Latest Reviews for Dental Insurance

Date Submitted: March 31, 2014
Insurance Provider: MetLife in Nebraska
Coverage: 5 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 3 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Does not cover my crown
I had a twinge of pain from time to time on one of my teeth. The dentest x-rayed it and said I had a hair line crack. Met Life denied the pre-approval. They want to wait until the tooth breaks or needs to be pulled. Then I will need an implant and that will cost them more. What a stupid company.
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Fed Up With Met Life
53 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Bellevue, NE, USA

Date Submitted: July 18, 2013
Insurance Provider: Delta Dental Insurance in Michigan
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: What a joke
Day 1: on hold for half an hour so representative can get an explanation of why my husbands insurance who is supposed to cover 100% of sons tooth extration will only cover about 25% due to "Carve out clause" even though my insurance only covers 50%. Get hung up on. Day 2. The only words they know are "because your husbands insurance has a "Carve out Clause" So, since my son has 963 left of his annual max for husbands insurance, and my insurance is paying 566, husbands insurance will only pay 396 (the 963-566) STILL do not understand why they wont pay 50% of procedure (which would be 847) since his covers 100% and mine covers 50%. Get told his insurance would be 963 and mine would pay 566 if husbands birthday was earlier in the year than mine. WTF. the order of our birthdays is costing me 566 more to get my sons wisdom teeth out. They screw you anyway they can. Policies are impossible to read and understand all of the loop holes. Unable to opt out of work insurance, otherwise I would and just pay cash. Would be cheaper in the long run.
Comments [ 7 ]
Submitted by: fed up
46 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   mi

Date Submitted: June 5, 2013
Insurance Provider: Delta Dental Insurance in Illinois
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 2 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Crowns
They always refuse to cover anything regarding crowns. I am sending a letter to the Illinois Department of Insurance regarding this scam. They claim all the crowns were due to attrition. Not true. The latest crowns were needed due to decay.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Sam
62 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Illinois

Date Submitted: May 20, 2013
Insurance Provider: Delta Dental Insurance in Alaska
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 3 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Guy Burk is a general dentist specializing in dent
Looking for an emergency dentist in Anchorage? Anchorage Midtown Dental Center offers a full range of general & cosmetic dental treatments such as root canal, cosmetic dentistry, preventive care or implants. Visit http://www.anchoragemidtowndental.com for all your emergency and regular dental needs.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: midtowndental2
14 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Anchorage, AK

Date Submitted: April 3, 2013
Insurance Provider: Delta Dental Insurance in Illinois
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: THE WORST EVER!
Delta Dental is a joke! My husband went in for a procedure that was suppose to be covered 50%. They denied it completely because according to them, it should have been 2 separate visits. The dentist submitted ADA procedures and it was denied a 2nd time because according to their board, they disagree. Why would you go in one day, have nerves exposed and then come back the next day? My sister in Ohio was told to see a dentist in her neighborhood that expired 12 years prior!! WTF!
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Vicky Grizzoffi
50 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Galena, Illinois

Date Submitted: March 18, 2013
Insurance Provider: United Concordia in Pennsylvania
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Worst Insurance Provider EVER!!!
All I can say is stay away from this provider...They totaly SUCK!!! They7 are incompetent, arrogant and deceitful.

All I can say is stay away from this provider...They totaly SUCK!!! They7 are incompetent, arrogant and deceitful.

All I can say is stay away from this provider...They totaly SUCK!!! They7 are incompetent, arrogant and deceitful.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: DonTom
65 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Allentown

Date Submitted: December 11, 2012
Insurance Provider: Delta Dental Insurance in Virginia
Coverage: 3 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 2 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: insurance scams continue...
Delta Dental has so much fine print you end up paying so much out of pocket because of exclusions and deductibles. I assumed (stupidly) they would cover a procedure 60% (them) 40% (me), but when the exclusions and deductible was applied it ended up more like me paying 63% and they paid 37%. Ridiculous scam
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Duped
40 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Alexandria, VA

Date Submitted: September 5, 2012
Insurance Provider: MetLife in Louisiana
Coverage: 4 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 6 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Daughter still stuck in braces
My husband is military so our dental coverage was transferred from United Concordia in May 2012 to Metlife. I have since bee n trying to get the final payment on my daughters braces made and am repeatedly told it will take 10-15 days or that the wrong claim was submitted and was even told once that the claim was not submitted when I was standing right next to the billing employee who submitted it!!! It has been a terrible transition and today I was told that it was in processing and that the supervisor did not want to give me a timeframe that would result in my disappointment!!!! DO NOT USE METLIFE IF YOU HAVE A CHOICE!!!!!
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: Sheryl
39 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Louisiana

Date Submitted: September 4, 2012
Insurance Provider: MetLife in Ohio
Coverage: 2 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 1 out of 10
Cost: 3 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Fails to process Orthodontic claims timely
Small dental claims seem to flow perfectly fine. However, large claims for orthodontics will create excuse after excuse from Metlife. They held a claim for 15 business days and did not forward it to claims for processing after multiple requests. Once forwarded to claims, they said it could take another 15-30 business days to process. Normal claims process within 7-10 days.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: plocke40
41 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Canton, OH

Date Submitted: June 4, 2012
Insurance Provider: MetLife in Virginia
Coverage: 1 out of 10
Claims: 1 out of 10
Customer Service: 7 out of 10
Cost: 1 out of 10
Recommend: No
Review: Worst Dental Coverage
The worst dental coverage ever! They said they would cover 80% of all dental procedures that my husband and I needed. Once the claims were submitted, they refuse to pay any of it either saying they didnt have sufficient information or it was deemed unnecessary. None of the anesthesia was covered saying not required!! What am I paying metlife for if basic anesthesia isnt covered, and to pay all this deductible crap! I have spent so much money for such simple work! I have no words! I would never recommend Metlife to anyone!
Comments [ 1 ]
Submitted by: rk
30 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Virginia